jump to navigation

Too Close for Comfort! April 28, 2008

Posted by Donna in Uncategorized.
Tags:
trackback

My daughter calls me on her cell phone as she is leaving work.

Me: “Where are you?”

Her: “Oh my 4’oclock didn’t show up so I left early.” (insert brief casual conversation here). “Wait hold on. That’s my office manager. She is probably pissed cuz I left early.” (clicks over to other line…I lose the connection. Damn call waiting! I call her back).

Me: “So what did she want?”

Her: “She wanted to make sure I was okay cuz a tornado just hit the hospital and destroyed the cars where I was parked 4 minutes after I left!”

(These are actual photos of the area taken by local area citizens…not me!)

If you were watching the national news Monday you probably heard about the devastating tornado that ripped through here. We just got heavy rain but within “spitting distance” homes were leveled and cars were tossed like toys. My husband works on the third floor in an office right near where my daughter works and a truck was tossed into the first floor of his building. He was off today. The neighborhood right behind them was leveled.

The injury and death rate is not final as I type this. I am hoping it is unusually low… just as unusual as it is for a tornado to sweep through here in the first place!

 

Comments»

1. Becky - April 28, 2008

Yikes Donna! Too close for comfort is right… Glad you and your family are all ok!

2. hahnathome - May 1, 2008

So glad you were okay – such a terrible storm!

3. Trish (freeepeace) Monaco - May 11, 2008

HolyMoly! how did I miss this? That first image along with your words send chills through me. Blessed, lucky or however you wanna look at it. Thankfully you are all okay. Damn. That is just messed up!

4. Tara Dharma - May 17, 2008

I am so glad you and your family came through this in one piece. Scarey stuff. These kinds of storms scare the beejeezus out of me. I was in Nashville one year on a business trip when we had a tornado warning. I didn’t sleep all night.

Hang in there.


Leave a Reply

