jump to navigation

Latest project… May 10, 2008

Posted by Donna in Uncategorized.
trackback

The lake house has this 20 year old mauve faded disgusting carpet that I couldn’t stand looking at for another second. So, unlike most people who just make a decision to replace the floors and then hire someone to do it I decide to rip up the carpet, see what lies beneath, and replace it myself.

Since this HGTV  addiction of mine I no longer find myself afraid of demolition of any kind. It’s actually somewhat therapeutic. I’ve also discovered that much of what we hire people to do for us is not rocket science. Read the instructions, have the right tools, plan ahead and go for it!  Some minor mistakes may pop up on the first try or two but in the end you will probably find you can do almost anything yourself.

Okay, so apparently I should have started on the other end of the room but what the heck, I still like it….

This is Pergo laminate flooring/red oak

Comments»

1. hahnathome - May 10, 2008

That stuff is pretty amazing. I was very happy with my self-install at my last house. Except the corners. The corners were not fun. Looks great.

2. Trish (freeepeace) Monaco - May 11, 2008

Wow. Looks amazing. Totally beyond my abilities (or desire to attempt). We just arranged our office and I’m thrilled…no flooring involved though. I love that you just DO it.

hey, how are those blog stats coming along?

3. Becky - May 13, 2008

Hey! I think that’s the same shade I picked for the play room! LMAO! We have such good taste. 😉

4. Remo - May 16, 2008

I took on 1,000 sq ft of laminate flooring and managed to end up with a halfway decent floor in practically no time at all. I only wish I had been more diligent about the baseboards.

It’s all about the proper tools. Do you have a Roto-Zip? Best damn tool ever made!

Trish was right. Your blog ROCKS!

5. Becky - May 16, 2008

Ha! See? A new reader. LOL You’d better not hang up your bloggy hat again. I’ll hunt you down with my super soaker!


Leave a Reply

