jump to navigation

It wasn’t his green thumb! May 26, 2008

Posted by Donna in Uncategorized.
trackback

Some of you know my husband and some of you only know what you read here. Trust me, I don’t make this stuff up!

Randy is in his comfort zone if he is at work; tinkering on a car; flying his airplane; or acting thirteen; but when it comes to home improvement or gardening projects you’re looking at a deer in the headlights. After 30 years of marriage I just accept the fact that he is who he is (and thank goodness he does the same for me).

While I was doing some yard work at the lake I guess he was feeling guilty after his swim, bike ride, boat ride, television viewing, and snacking, so he offered to help me trim the azalea bushes.

 

Fast forward…

I am not complaining that they are now azalea stumps. I mean after all, he did haul away all the debris and they will grow back. I did however, draw the line at his solution to the infestation of aphids on the other shrubs in the backyard.

I mentioned that I need to spray them before I lose the entire row of shrubs. Worse yet, what if it spreads to the other newly planted bushes? I was contemplating driving up to the nursery to buy some Ortho-toxic waste-product of some form or another when my neighbor remembered having some still in her garage. She was kind enough to offer me not only the insecticide but the sprayer to apply it with as well (her husband was off playing golf…notice the pattern here).

I trimmed away the dying and diseased portion, mixed my potion and sprayed the bushes. When I was through I cleaned up my mess and put everything away.

Enter Randy: He steps out on the deck and leans over to begin spraying them with ….

RAID! Yes, the ant and roach killing Raid.

Randy is a wonderful man with many wonderful qualities but if you ask me why I married him I can assure you…

it wasn’t his green thumb!

 

Comments»

1. Becky - May 26, 2008

*snort* I’m just picturing the roaches from the commercial all yelling “RAAAaaaaaAAAAAID?!!!”

2. Remo - May 26, 2008

That is a complete “guy” solution. I love it.

“Bugs? I’ll kill them with bug spray.”

Problem…solution…time for a beer.

Life is simple when you don’t have to put the seat down. LOL

3. Trish (freeepeace) Monaco - May 27, 2008

Ack. What is RAID doing there in the first place?

Love the picture. I wanna see and read more. Maybe even a video? Just sayin…

4. Trish (freeepeace) Monaco - May 28, 2008

Where is your update? I demand an update!

No worries. Just being a pest. 😀

xo

5. Tara Dharma - May 30, 2008

ok, now I wanna hear Randy’s side of the story. It’s not that I doubt your veracity, it’s just I’m sure he’s got an exceptionally hilarious rationale for both acts of gardening suicide!

Look at it this way: at least you don’t have a couch potato, eh?!


Leave a Reply

